King's & Queen's Performing Arts Centre, Dunedin


5:00PM Saturday, 4 August, 2018 NZST
Dunedin Symphony Orchestra presents VOILA VIOLA!

Dunedin Symphony Orchestra presents VOILA VIOLA!

Richard Davis Conductor
Tim Deighton Viola

Britten: Simple Symphony
Copland: Appalachian Spring Suite
Anthony Ritchie: Viola Concerto No. 2 (world première)
Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings

Dunedin-based Anthony Ritchie has been hailed as "one of the greatest composers of his time" and the DSO has had the privilege of many première performances of his works during its 29-year association with him. The DSO is delighted to be presenting yet another world première performance: his Viola Concerto No. 2. Tim Deighton, the concerto soloist, originally from New Zealand, is Professor of Viola at Penn State University (USA) and is acclaimed as a leading teacher and performer.

Complementing this new work are two 20th century works: Benjamin Britten's Simple Symphony and Copland's Appalachian Spring, and the programme concludes with Tchaikovsky's rousing Serenade for Strings.

Melbourne-based conductor Richard Davis is known for his versatility, and he conducts leading orchestras in Australia, New Zealand and the UK.


More Information