Gisborne War Memorial Theatre, Gisborne


7:30PM Thursday, 17 October, 2019 NZST
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra - Te Mapouriki

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra - Te Mapouriki

Jun Märkl Conductor
Samuel Jacobs Horn

Kenneth Young Te Mapouriki

W.A. Mozart Symphony No. 31 in D major, K. 297 Paris
Richard Strauss Horn Concerto No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 11
Mendelssohn Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, Op. 27
R. Schumann Symphony No. 1 in Bb major, Op. 38 Spring

German-Japanese conductor Jun Märkl conducts a spring concert that includes an exciting new New Zealand work and some popular classics.
Te Mapouriki by New Zealand composer Kenneth Young was commissioned NZSO Cook’s Landfall Series to mark 250 years since the first encounters between Maori and European settlers. It reflects how Cook was changed by his experiences.
Mozart’s vigorous Paris Symphony was written while the composer was in Paris looking for work. The first movement begins with a rising, accelerating scale – an effect known as the Mannheim rocket.
Richard Strauss was a prolific composer of the late Romantic and early modern eras, composing many chamber, orchestral, solo works as well as many Operas. His first horn concerto, written when he was just 18 is still a popular work today and will be performed by NZSO principal horn Samuel Jacobs. Mendelssohn’s concert overture Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage is based on two poems by Goethe. The fanfare at the end of the work suggests that despite the absence of wind at the beginning, the sailing ship reached its destination.

Robert Schumann wrote his First Symphony – Spring in just four days. According to his wife, the title is inspired by poet Adolf Böttger’s Frühlingsgedicht (Spring poem). The last lines read “O turn, O turn and change your course— In the valley spring blooms forth!”

More Information

Door sales available 1 hour before the show. Approx finish time 9:15 pm

Service and Credit Card Fees will apply

Reserved seating

PLEASE NOTE: Due to safety and restricted viewing, children under 10 years are not permitted in the first row of the circle (Rows A, B & C upstairs).

For wheelchair seating and further information please contact the Theatre phone 06 869 2692 or email halls@gdc.govt.nz

Doors and refreshments open one hour before the show.

Tickets purchased on the internet may be picked up at the venue 1 hour before the show or at Lawson Field between 12pm and 5pm Monday through Friday.
Buy tickets for New Zealand Symphony Orchestra - Te Mapouriki at Gisborne War Memorial Theatre, Gisborne

Ticket Pricing (NZD)

A Reserve
Adult $59.00
Child $35.00
Senior $51.30
Group of 4 $200.60
B Reserve
Adult $46.00
Child $15.00
Senior $40.00
Group of 4 $156.40

Other Charges and Services

Tickets purchased for this event online will incur the following fees:

$5.00 Per transaction for pickup tickets.

$8.00 Per transaction for NZ courier deliveries.

$12.00 Per transaction for NZ rural deliveries.

A fee from $2.88 will apply on the total value of all electronic transactions including credit and debit cards.

Tickets may incur a per ticket service fee.

No refunds or exchanges on any ticket price except as required by Law.

All Prices and all Other Charges are Inclusive of all taxes, if any.